Rainbow Cake

Now this is the ultimate cake! As soon as I saw this amazing cake on Kerry Cooks, it was pencilled into my baking diary!

This was a challenge for me, I wasn’t quite sure I could pull it off to be honest! I’m proud to say I did, and I even got asked to make it again for a family birthday!

Rainbow Cake

Impressive right?

I wouldn’t say this is extremely difficult to make. The most difficult part for me was stacking it! As I stacked the cakes on top of each other, it started to look like the leaning tower of Pisa! The key is to take your time and not to put on too much icing between the layers as it will just become too slippery.

Another thing to warn you about, it is VERY messy. My hands were rainbow coloured for a few hours. Even our ginger kitten got blue food colouring on his nose, don’t ask how!

The recipe makes 6 layers in total however I was a bit too generous and ran out of mixture. I ended up with 5 layers but it still looked as good!

I followed Kerry’s version of a Rainbow Cake, using a standard Victoria Sponge and cream cheese frosting.

I used disposable tin foil ‘flan cases’ from Wilkos to make my cakes. You get 10 for £1 and it saves on the washing up! If you have enough cake tins, you can of course use those however you may need to do them in stages.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 350g self raising flour
  • 350g soft butter
  • 350g caster sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • up to 40ml semi-skimmed milk

Food Colouring:

To make your cake super pretty, you’re going to need food colouring, but don’t make the mistake I made with my Not So Red Cupcakes and buy natural food colouring, you need strong food colouring pastes. Kerry recommended the ones by Sugarflair and Americolour. I got them on ebay, you can buy separately or in bulk and they’re really not expensive when you think about how long they last.

For my cake I used:

Sugarflair Christmas Red

Sugarflair Melon

Sugarflair Mint Green

Sugarflair Baby Blue

Americolour Electric Purple

If you want to add orange, you can mix Christmas Red and Melon together.

These are all available on ebay.

For the cream cheese frosting:

  • 100g soft butter
  • 250g cream cheese
  • 600g sifted icing sugar

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to gas mark 4/170 degrees/360 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Add the butter and caster sugar to a mixing bowl and mix well with a wooden spoon until combined.

3. Add the eggs one at a time and then add a little bit of the flour. Mix well and then add the remaining flour and your vanilla extract. Mix again until combined. If your mix seems a bit thick add up to 40ml of semi-skimmed milk. You may not need it all, get to a consistency that you’re happy with.

4. Divide your mix into 5 or 6 bowls ready to add your different colours. Drizzle on your colours into each one and mix. You’ll need about a quarter of a teaspoon but add and mix until you are happy with the colour.

5. Once you have your bright cake batters, transfer them into your foil cases or cake tins and place in the oven. Mine took 20 minutes but just make sure you keep a close eye and check that a skewer comes out clean when inserted.

6. Leave your cakes to cool properly. Whilst they are cooling, mix together your icing ingredients. Don’t overbeat, get the mixture to a thick consistency.

7. Once cooled fully, it’s time to stack! Add a thin layer of the icing, just enough to cover it and make sure it sticks to the next. I used a little too much and it started to run out of the sides! Stack the cakes on top of one another gently! I didn’t put mine in any particular order colour wise, it’s up to you what colours you want where 🙂

DSC_0481
A little wonky!

8. Apply a light crumb coat of icing all over your cake and then put into the fridge to set for about 30 minutes.

9. Once this has set, apply a thicker layer of your frosting. Add sprinkles or confetti to make the outside look pretty. I then put my cake in the fridge again for 15 minutes to set.

You can then cut open and see your rainbow creation!

Rainbow cake

DSC_0521

My icing wasn’t the neatest but hey, I’m still learning, and it tasted amazing! I used a palette knife but definitely need to invest in a scraper and turntable asap.

I made my own last Sunday and we still have some left, and it still tastes just as good so I think you can keep it for a good 5-6 days.

After posting photos of the cake on Facebook, my cousin contacted me to see if I could make the same again for a birthday cake for her little girl’s 4th birthday. I was thrilled to be asked so I ended up making 2 rainbow cakes in the space of 3 days!

Here’s the second cake …

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kerrycooks says:

    Beautiful!! The blue looks SO vivid, I love it!

Leave a Reply

