Simple Shortbreads

I eat biscuits like they’re going out of fashion. I blame my mum for constantly bringing me biscuits and tea in bed when I was younger!

I’m one of those people that has to have a couple of biscuits when I have a brew, it’s just not the same! At the weekend I realised I had nothing to dunk so decided to make some shortbread biscuits.

These take no time at all to make and bake. Mine were a bit misshapen as I shaped them with my fingers too much and they were a tad over baked (I’m still learning!). They tasted great when they were warm and soft straight from the oven but a few hours later they were too hard. I have adjusted the time appropriately below:

All you’ll need is:

Ingredients:

  • 125g butter
  • 55g caster sugar
  • 180g plain flour

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 190C/375F/Gas mark 5

2. Add the butter and sugar to a mixing bowl and beat together until smooth.

3. Add in the flour and mix until you get a smooth paste. Turn out onto your work surface roll out the paste gently until it is around 1cm thick.

4. Cut into fingers (or circles if you’d prefer) and place onto a baking tray. If you like you can prick small holes into the biscuits using a fork. Sprinkle with a little icing sugar and put into the fridge to chill for 20-30 minutes.

5. Once chilled, place in the oven to bake for around 15 minutes. They should look a pale golden-brown colour but still feel soft to touch. Set aside to cool.

Dunk until your hearts content!

Shortbread

5 Comments Add yours

  1. angela5mith says:

    Yummy! They look delicious x

  2. donnamh92 says:

    I’ve made shortbread a few times and it’s always come out too hard. It’s not had the melty-buttery-crumbly shortbread effect, been more of a standard biscuit! Do you think it is just that they need to come out a few minutes earlier?

    1. Kelly says:

      I’m not sure but I would have thought so? x

  3. kerrycooks says:

    I love their rustic look (not a veiled criticism – they’re so much prettier than shop rectangular ones!)

    1. Kelly says:

      Thanks Kerry 🙂

Leave a Reply

