Carrot and Walnut Slices

I LOVE Carrot Cake! I thank my mum for her addiction to it!

I thought I’d give it a try myself as I’ve only ever made it with a Betty Crocker mix! It wasn’t a complete disaster, although what was supposed to be a full Carrot Cake turned out to be slices instead!

I’m not quite sure what happened, I’ve read a number of things so if you can help I would really appreciate it. The cake basically sank, causing a big hole slap bang in the middle! Rather than start from scratch, I saved what I could of the cake and cut it into squares.

The slices tasted great but I was gutted I couldn’t cut it in half and fill it with icing! I should also admit, I didn’t use enough grated carrot within the mixture so it wasn’t the best tasting of carrot cakes. I have a lot to learn next time!

This cake is full of flavour! As well as carrot, I used walnut pieces which adds that extra crunch. I also put some orange zest in the icing to add a bit of zing!

I was recommended by a fellow tweeter to use Peyton and Byrne’s recipe and I highly recommend you do! This is adapted below:

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 225g soft unsalted butter
  • 225g light brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 225g grated carrot
  • 150g chopped walnuts
  • 50g chopped sultanas

Icing:

  • 500g icing sugar
  • 100g soft unsalted butter
  • 200g cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • Zest 1 large orange

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 170C. Grease and line a 20cm springform cake tin.

2. In a large mixing bowl, add the butter and sugar and cream together until pale and fluffy.

3. Add in the eggs one at a time and mix well after each addition. Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

4. In a separate bowl, sift the baking powder, cinnamon, flour and salt. Add half of it to the cake mixture and mix to combine before adding the 2nd half.

5. In another bowl, add the grated carrot, sultanas and walnuts. Stir this into the cake mixture.

6. Spoon the mixture into the prepared tin and smooth over the top with the back of a spoon or a knife. Bake for about 50-55 minutes until the cake is springy on top and a skewer comes out clean when inserted. To make cupcakes, spoon the mixture into cupcake cases and bake for 25-30 minutes.

7. Allow your cake to cool in the tin for 15 minutes before turning it out and leaving to cool fully on a wire rack.

8. When the cake is cold, make your icing. Sift the icing sugar twice in a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the butter until creamy and smooth. Add in the cream cheese and beat again. Add a third of the sifted icing sugar and mix well. Add the rest and beat until the icing mixture is smooth.

9. When you are ready to ice, cut the cake in half and fill the middle with icing and add a layer on top. Decorate with walnuts, orange zest or grated carrots!

Shame mine didn’t turn out like this but hey, it still went down a treat!

Oops!

Leave a Reply

