Cherry and Almond Cake

Finding some leftover almonds and glace cherries in my cupboard called for one thing, cherry and almond cake!

I’m a sucker for following the recipe to a T (I really need to stop) and with this bake, I really shouldn’t have. It said to bake the cake for 90 minutes so that’s exactly what I did and it ended up being far too over-baked.

I’m always a little scared of opening the oven to keep checking on it; when I’ve done this before my cakes have been under-baked! I’ve adapted the timings below but just keep an eye on it after 1 hour and 10 minutes.

It wasn’t all bad; the cake tasted delicious once I’d cut the huge crusts off! We had ours served with ice cream but this would taste amazing with custard too!

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 200g glace cherries
  • 175g butter, plus a little extra for greasing
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 40g ground almonds
  • 280g plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 70g flaked almonds, for decoration

Method:

1. Preheat the oven 160C/325F and grease an 18cm square cake tin.

2. Cut the cherries in half and pat them dry with kitchen paper to remove all the syrup. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, add the butter, sugar, eggs and ground almonds. Sift in the flour and baking powder and give it all a good mix. Beat thoroughly until the mixture is smooth and then mix in the cherries.

4. Spoon the mixture into the prepared cake tin and smooth the top over with a knife. Sprinkle over the flaked almonds and bake in the oven for 1 hour and 15-20 minutes. (The recipe I followed said 1 hour and 30 minutes but I would check on it after 1 hour and 10. When it is golden and a skewer is inserted clean, it’s ready to remove from the oven.)

5. Leave to cool in the tin for 10-15 minutes before removing onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy and let me know if you perfect the cooking time!

Leave a Reply

